NOLA 2016

Two weeks ago I joined Steve for the weekend in New Orleans.  Each time I visit I enjoy the city more.  The hotel Steve always stays at is the Best Western on Rampart Street.

Best Western, Rampart Street, NOLA
A view of the hotel where we stay from the neutral ground.

I love walking and as Steve left to do company visits, I walked to have my café au lait and beignets.

It was a chilly day on that Friday morning so the sides to the coffee shop were down to keep the cool breeze out.
It was a chilly day on that Friday morning so the sides to the coffee shop were down to keep the cool breeze out.

Café Du Monte has been in business since 1862 and is open 24 hours a day.  The menu is simple, beignets, café au lait and orange juice.  Often one has to wait for a table and chair to sit and consume these goodies plus cash, no plastic is taken at this business.

Once I completed my morning treat I walked to the Mississippi River and took a peek.  NOLA is also called the Crescent City because the river makes a bend at the bottom of the French Quarter.  On a previous visit we did the river boat tour.  Steve takes a ferry for work sometimes to cross the Mississippi to do his job.

Leave a Reply

