Richard D. Freeman

A Tribute to My Father

It was 67 years ago today my father graduated from Whitesville Central School(WCS).  I made copies of these pictures last January when I was visiting my mother in Elmira, New York.  I am the third daughter of Richard Freeman and I graduated from WCS thirty-one years after he did.  Unfortunately he was not there to see me or my sisters graduate because he died June 1973 of a massive heart attack.

The header picture is my father  at the Hotel Victoria in New York City.  I cropped the picture from the one with him and his 4 classmates shown below.  Unfortunately I did not know any of the men in the picture with my father as I was growing up or now.

Micah, Eli and Hannah Thompson at the bell which is in memory of their grandfather Richard Freeman.
Micah, Eli and Hannah Thompson at the bell which is in memory of their grandfather Richard Freeman.

Even though my father left this world over 40 years ago his memory still lives on in my heart and in pictures like the one to the left.  This picture is of  my three children taken October 2006 at the bell that was erected in memory of my father a year after he passed.  He was a volunteer fireman and this bell was from the old firehouse.

Leave a Reply

