May Quilt of the Month

As you can see from my post, I love quilting and I am using this blog to catalog quilts I have made over the years.  This quilt is made from 8 inch blocks.  I used clothing items and fabric from out lives that were special to me and our children.  When our kids out grew their OshKosh overalls, that Steve loves so much, I decided to save them along with sweatshirts, a baby quilt of Eli’s which he wore out by his chewing, baseball cap emblems, fabric from one of my favorite shirts, etc.  The blocks I put together over several years as time permitted.

I started with an 8 1/2 inches muslim or other fabric square and would sort of paper piece the blocks together with a medallion in the center and various fabrics about the center.  No pattern, just as the fabric fell into place as I sewed.  The back is flannel.  I completed the quilt in 2005 with not batting and free motioned quilted the back to the front.

Leave a Reply

