How My Daughter Made My Day and Mother’s Day

Flowers sitting on my work station until I went home.
Flowers sitting on my work station until I went home.

Yesterday I worked on the fifth floor of the Heart Hospital at TMF.  That wonderful daughter of mine with some help from her daddy made my day.  She had flowers sent to me at work.  It was about 3 pm when I was off the floor that French Peas Flower Shop arrived with these beautiful flowers.  As I approached the nurses station, several staff members were gathered about the desk where these flowers sat.  Everyone was like “who are they from” and as I opened the card I knew my daughter just made my day.  Michael, one of the unit techs said, “I already read the card.”  Yes, family there is some other nosy people like me, Kim.

Kenya (one of those hard workers who keep the rooms spic and span) said,  “Those flowers are so beautiful.”  She then let numerous other people know about them and took another co-worker to see them.  Thank you, Kenya!

Gabe (charge nurse) said, “I want to steal them and give them to my wife.”

Janice (case manager from 4 heart) said, “Whose flowers?”  Then proceeded to wanting to know who sent them to me, how old was my daughter and said how nice of her to send the flowers.  Thank you Janice!

At shift change, Chris, the night nurse who was taking 3 of my patients, asked similar questions and said he needed to send his mother flowers for Mother’s Day.  He was given suggestions by me on how to make his mother beam as Hannah delighted me.

Thank you Hannah in conjunction with your daddy along with all my co-workers who appreciated me receiving flowers.

Some advice to husbands — want to make your wife love you more then ever? Send her flowers for birthday, anniversary and don’t forget Valentine’s Day (you don’t want your wife to be one of the only ones not to receive flowers at work on this day).  Dropping them off can have same effect.  Even if the wife says she does not want flowers, still send them because co-workers will remember and it comes up in conversation months to years after.  Just ask my friend and co-worker Amy.

Children, no matter what age — Want to make your Mom’s Mother’s Day or any day send her flowers to work, or some place to honor her.  You can ask me via comments for suggestions.

Co-workers– buy a cake for a co-workers birthday from a good bakery and take to work to celebrate their special day.  Chocolate makes most people happy but not all.

Making someone smile and beam is fun and life is too short not to spread a little love and joy.

This was my work station yesterday for my 12 hours at LPOHH.  My home away from home for the day.
This was my work station yesterday for my 12 hours at LPOHH. My home away from home for the day.

 

Steve took this picture last night after I got home.  These are my work scrubs with the logo for the heart hospital on the right side.
Steve took this picture last night after I got home. These are my work scrubs with the logo for the heart hospital on the right side.
Leave a Reply

