Guest Writer

Hill to Die On
By Eli Thompson.
Yea,I know that I should never end a sentence with a preposition…but some of my family
ends there’s with probation…so let that go,‘cause there sure as shit are better hills to die on.
Yea,you’re right this is probably all trash, I don’t have an inner Ogden Nash. Yea…I’ll admit it
…what the heck, some of my rhymes slant like the Titanic’s deck.  Is my family like some
paintin by Norman Rockwell? Hell no,but this is my story to tell…and yes I know,it really
doesn’t flow…but I don’t give a damn, this is who I am…so if you don’t like it, you know
where you can go.
My uncle says Obama’s a Muslim Kenyan..‘cause FoxNews told him so…But I just bite my
tongue and let it go,‘cause there’s a better hillto die on.
My aunt starts talking about Armageddon…saying it’s coming soon cause some preacher
says so…So I just say Amen and let it go,‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My cousin is recapping some housewives’season and I want to say they should outlaw Bravo.
But I pray for her soul and let it go cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My little brother tells me that life is void of reason and I wonder when the hell did he turn
emo? But I just smirk and let it go,‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My mom walks in while the game is on and tells me I should meet this church girl she knows
(My shoulders slump ‘cause I’m sure she’s plain and plump) but I mumble “sure”and let it go,
‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My nephew bites me and tells me he’s a lion. I know his parents, so I know he’s slow so I
bear my teeth and let it go, cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My nieces come in and put Frozen on and I really want to watch the Broncos. But what the
hell, it’s just as well, I’llsing along to “Let it go”,‘cause there’s a better hillto die on.
My sister is feeding her latest spawn and I damn sure don’t want to see that show. But I just
gag a little and let it go,‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My brother –in –law wants me up at dawn to go hunt for deals with a bunch of other dim-
witted locos but I just say maybe and let it go,‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My grandma complains about the weight she’s put on while she fries veggies up in Crisco.
But they’re so damn good, I let it go ‘cause there’s a better hill to die on.
My dad wants me to put down this pen and find a career to rely on, but he doesn’t
understand that this ink soaked sword will be in my hand…no matter what hill I choose to die
on.
I won’t lie sometimes my patience gets tried,but these beautiful souls are who I’m built on…
So I thank heaven above that they taught me that love is the hill to die on.
Leave a Reply

